Chris Brown, Pharrell Williams and Beyonce Win Big at SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014

by LP Green, II

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 celebrated and honored soul music’s brightest new stars as well as R&B’s greatest legends during the star-studded show, which aired on CENTRIC and BET on November 30, 2014. Chris Brown was the big winner of the night, walking away with three awards, while Pharrell Williams and Beyonce both took home two. SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 was hosted by talk show queen Wendy Williams and featured show-stopping performances by Chris Brown, JodeciNico & VinzTinasheLil’ KimMissy Elliott and Da Brat, and also honored funk music icons Kool & The Gang with the Legend Award.

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 kicked off with Chris Brown performing a medley of his hits, including “Yo (Excuse Me Miss),” “New Flame,” and “Loyal,” bringing the crowd to their feet. Moments later, Wendy Williams lit up the stage with a glitzy toast to Las Vegas as she waltzed alongside Boris Kodjoe in the opening number. Breakout performers Nico & Vinz took the stage next and belted out their smash hit “Am I Wrong” before wowing the crowd with their new single, “In Your Arms.” After this performance, audience members joined We Are Toonz and their troop of dancers in a lively rendition of this year’s dance craze, the Nae Nae. Later in the show, Jodeci reunited onstage to perform classic fan favorites “Freek’n You,” “Come and Talk to Me,” “Stay” and “Forever My Lady,” in addition to debuting their new single, “Nobody Wins.” To close out the show, a group of artists honored Kool & The Gang by performing some of the group’s greatest hits; artists included Tamar Braxton, MC Lyte, Ma$e, Doug E. Fresh, and hip hop emcees Lil’ Kim, Missy Elliott and Da Brat, who reunited and closed out the night with a crowd-pleasing performance of their 1996 platinum single “Not Tonight” (a remix of Kool & The Gang’s hit “Ladies Night”).

SOUL TRAIN AWARDS 2014 honored artists in 12 different categories. Winners included Nico & Vinz (Best New Artist), Beyoncé (Best R&B/Soul Female Artist), Trey Songz (Best R&B/Soul Male Artist), “Beyoncé” by Beyoncé (Album of the Year), and “Happy” by Pharrell Williams (Song of the Year).


Best New Artist – Nico & Vinz
Centric Certified Award – Leela James
Best Gospel and/or Inspirational Song – Erica Campbell feat. Lecrae – “Help”
Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
The Chaka Khan Award for Best R&B/Soul Female Artist – Beyoncé
Best R&B/Soul Male Artist – Trey Songz
Album of the Year – Beyoncé – “Beyoncé”
Song of the Year – Pharrell Williams – “Happy”
The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award – John Legend (Toby Gad, John Legend) – “All Of Me”
Best Dance Performance – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Best Collaboration – Chris Brown feat. Lil Wayne and Tyga – “Loyal”
Video of the Year – “Happy” (Pharrell Williams) – We are from L.A.


0 comment

You may also like